Ancestor Sounds - Africatown CD

SKU: AfricatownCD
Artists: Africatown, AL
Publisher: PM Press
Catalog No: PMA 025-2
UPC: 877746011528
Release Date: February 2024
Format: CD with booklet
Size: 5.5 x 5.5
Length: 32 minutes

Qty: - +


An album of landmark recordings featuring residents of the Africatown community, including descendants from the last slave ship brought to America, the Clotilda.

This recording is meant as an impressionistic document rather than a definitive historical narrative. All recordings were performed on-site as 100% live first-takes. The outdoor nature of the recordings graphically renders the encroaching and ominous industrial sounds of the area. A combination of various folk traditions, the pieces on this album combine both historical narrative and contemporary life experiences for the people of the Africatown community. Intended as an audio companion to the book Missing Music: Voices from Where the Dirt Roads End, these recordings also stand strong on their own. This CD is yet another step in the ongoing quest of Grammy Award winning music producer and author Ian Brennan to provide musical platforms for underrepresented nations and populations around the world.

Proceeds benefit the Africatown Drummers, LLC and various other local organizations.

The Guardian awarded Ancestor Sounds "Folk Album of the Month" for March 2024. Read the review here.


1.    Run If You Can (Don't Go Down That Road)
2.    Family Secret
3.    Do You Hear Me Now?
4.    Lead Me Home
5.    Black Part of Town
6.    Illegal Factory (Smokestack Sighs)
7.    Africatown in Their Face
8.    Kept Me
9.    First Thing He Did When Freed Was Build a Drum
10.  Haunted by Her Capture
11.  Sent to Vietnam, But Never Been to Africa
12.  Only Black School
13.  Reconstructed Memory
14.  Cudjoe's Statue Defiled
15.  Birdsong Beside the Refinery
16.  Walk With Thee
17.  Graveyard Shift Emissions
18.  The Blues Return (Taking Flight)


  1. Run, If You Can (Don’t Go Down That Road)

Cart Contents

Your cart is currently empty

Subtotal: $0.00

View Cart & Checkout


Recent Posts

PM Press ©Copyright 2024 PM Press   -   Powered by SunShop "Shopping Cart Software"

  • paypal
  • mastercard
  • visa