It is Right To Rebel (double LP)

SKU: RighttoRebelLP
Catalog No: NO13LP006
Publisher: Plateselskapet No. 13
Artists: Mat Callahan & Yvonne Moore and friends
Format: 2 x 12" 140 g black vinyl LP
Size: 12x12
Length: Disc 1: 30 minutes, 36 seconds, Disc 2: 29 minutes, 53 seconds
Release Date: June 2022

Qty: - +


It is Right To Rebel is an exciting and thought provoking new record from Mat Callahan & Yvonne Moore and friends. The double LP consisting of 15 tracks are mostly rooted in the folk music tradition with the unifying elements of rhythm, group singing and acoustic music. Lyrically it deals with topics such as the Zapatista uprising in Chiapas, political prisoners and environmental issues. 

The central theme of the record is awareness. It is Right To Rebel is a battle cry, a wake up call, an invitation to join the struggles of our time, a celebration of rebellion and social movements and a musical thumbs up to all the people that realize that big changes have to be made.

The double album comes in a gatefold sleeve with cover art made by graphic designer and author of The Encyclopedia of Political Record Labels, Josh MacPhee, from the Justseeds Artists’ Cooperative. It includes a 12 page insert with lyrics and liner notes.

It is Right To Rebel is a true product of internationalism. It is recorded in Switzerland by an American and a gang of Swiss musicians, the cover art is made by an American activist from Brooklyn and the record is released by a Norwegian leftist record label.   

Track list:

A1: Free Leonard Peltier (4:04)

A2: The War Against Forgetting (3:16)

A3: High John the Conqueror Root (3:38)

A4: Fire Isn't Fire (3:26)

B1: 99 Books (George Jackson) (4:18)

B2: Say Yes (4:20)

B3: High Time For A High Time (3:44)

B4: Pick Your Poison (3:50)

C1: Cross My Heart (1:47)

C2: Another Message Coming' (2:45)

C3: Stand and Fight (2:56)

C4: Different Worlds (5:36)

D1: Sellavision (4:26)

D2: Sweep the Moneychangers From Your Soul (7:31)

D3: The Last Word (4:52)

About the Musicians:

Mat Callahan is a musician and author originally from San Francisco. Recent projects include the republication of Songs of Freedom by Irish revolutionary James Connolly, the recording and publication of Working-Class Heroes, and the launch of the multimedia project Songs of Slavery and Emancipation. He is the author of five books including, in 2017, The Explosion of Deferred Dreams (PM Press) and A Critical Guide to Intellectual Property (Zed Books). Callahan can be reached at

Yvonne Moore is a singer and bandleader originally from Schaffhausen. In addition to recording numerous albums of her own music, Moore is cofounder and treasurer of the Art in History and Politics Association, whose purpose is to discover, publish, and popularize music, graphic art, and texts created by participants in conflicts such as the struggle to abolish slavery. Her exploration of the songs of Sarah Ogan Gunning led to the making of Working-Class Heroes. Moore can be reached at

Cart Contents

Your cart is currently empty

Subtotal: $0.00

View Cart & Checkout


Recent Posts

PM Press ©Copyright 2024 PM Press   -   Powered by SunShop "Shopping Cart Software"

  • paypal
  • mastercard
  • visa